Other Voices, #18

~ Books ~

SafeHaven

Safe Haven.  348-page novel by Christopher Artinian.  The planet has succumbed to a monstrous virus.  Those who die from the infection return as savage predators hell-bent on spreading the virus to the rest of the human population.  The UK and Ireland are the last hold-outs, but when the infrastructure supporting their self-imposed quarantine collapses, it’s everyone for themselves.  Mike Fletcher and his sister Emma live in Leeds.  With the city’s streets overrun by the dead, their only option is to flee.  They take their younger siblings and set off to find their last remaining relative in the far north-west of Scotland.  As they travel north they encounter other survivors – but who can they trust?  Their terrifying journey will require them to confront horrors both human and inhuman, in the outside world and within themselves.  Will they ever find a safe haven?  $3.27 on Kindle.

YesterdaysLost

Yesterday’s Lost:  83-page novella by Sam Cheever. Pratt Davies is a police detective with the Saint Louis PD.  He’s comfortable in his role, and confident that he’s seen just about everything there is to see.  Until he and his partner answer a call to enter a home where blood curdling screams speak of horrific violence.  Inside the disturbing house, he encounters a strange, icy mist and something malevolent waiting just beyond view.  Pratt’s confidence is shaken, his worldview smashed into tiny pieces like shards of glass from a broken mirror.  His partner comes out of that house damaged, both physically and mentally, unable to even form a coherent response.  Pratt is so shaken he can barely function.  And he still has a murder to solve.  Who killed the couple living in that terrible house?  What haunted the mist obscuring the scene?  How did Pratt’s partner end up bleeding and babbling on the floor, something evil oozing through her gaze?  And how is Pratt, broken and terrified himself, ever going to solve a murder that has every indication of having been born in the ether?  99¢ on Kindle.

StoneThread

The Stone Thread First Chronicle:  343-page novel by J.R. Evangelisti.  In 1980, Dr. Elizabeth Wellstrom is a researcher of historic words.  She discovers the word Skotoma, which transcends centuries.  While trying to understand how this could possibly happen, she and her boyfriend co-worker become detectives in solving the mystery.  Then things begin to unravel as her research leads to a deranged and dangerous killer.  This is a harrowing, suspenseful, and fast paced mystery involving good versus evil set on the Eastern Seaboard.  $1.99 on Kindle.

SilentKingdom

Silent Kingdom:  247-page novel by Rachel L. Schade.  Misroth’s king has died, and the entire kingdom is in mourning – or so it seems.  After her father is crowned regent in his brother’s stead, Princess Halia discovers a terrible truth that could end her life.  But when she flees to live in hiding, she discovers that the Royal Guard are not all she has to fear.  Dark creatures stalk her, reports of oppression and war reach her ears, and her burden to protect her kingdom – at any cost – will not be silenced.  Lovers of fantasy adventures such as An Ember in the Ashes, Throne of Glass,and The Remnant Chronicles won’t want to miss this exciting new series.  Filled with heart-pounding action and thrilling courage, supernatural powers and nightmarish monsters, readers have trouble putting this book down.  99¢ on Kindle.

GamePiece

Game Piece:  261-page novel by Alan Brenham.  Temple, Texas Police Detective Barry Marshall hunts for a hardened serial killer with the ultimate endgame, one intended to strip Marshall of everything he holds dear — his career, his wife Erin, and his reputation.  Unbeknownst to Marshall, the killer had dated Erin years ago, and seeing Marshall with her pushes him over the edge.  Determined to punish Marshall for stealing his beloved, the killer plays a deadly cat-and-mouse game of murder.  As the body count rises, Marshall is forced to face his worst nightmare.  99¢ on Kindle.

WhenFriendsMustDie

When Friends Must Die:  174-page novel by C.W. Hawes.  Private detective Justinia Wright doesn’t like missing person cases.  But her brother, Harry, goads her into taking the Distad case for a nice fat fee.  The investigation is moving along just fine, when all of a sudden it all begins to fall apart.  No one wants to cooperate.  Tina and Harry are at odds.  And worst of all, Tina goes into a funk and simply stops working.  Will she come out of her funk in time to pull everything together, find the killer, and earn her fee?  When Friends Must Die is the sixth book in the Justinia Wright Private Investigator Mysteries series, and if you like old-school mysteries in the vein of Nero Wolfe or Hercule Poirot, then consider this one to carry the Blimprider Seal of Approval; I haven’t read this novel (yet!), but have read from this series, and whole-heartedly recommend it to fans of the genre.  $3.99 on Kindle.

TerraIncognita

Terra Incognita.  541-page novel by Mark Ferguson.  On a world where the horizon moves and parallel realities grind together, the Bad Time is coming.  A boy named Nemed, a stern Detective named Malone, and a reformed terrorist named Larmenihar each come from a different Scape, and each will confront unpleasant discoveries and the legacy of bleak, violent history, a history that is sometimes bizarre and sometimes darkly familiar.  Mere men with guns and wits must content with crystalline post-humans of incredible technology and strength, themselves overshadowed by stranger and more horrible beings of weaponized insanity.  Knowledge of the mysterious phenomenon which created the moving Horizons overhead would be a powerful asset for any side, but the legends of the Bad Time warn against such curiosity.  Under the thick glaciers of the Larch Scape a discovery is about to be made, one that is drawing the multiverse’s more advanced peoples to Nemed’s cold homeland and bringing them closer to war.  CDN$6.29 on Kindle.

RageOfAngels

Rage of Angels:  61-page novella by John Northern.  On the surface Hallows Chaise appears to be a normal coastal fishing hamlet, but scratch the surface and you can see families suffering from unexplained losses as they are torn apart by the Demon Erebus.  For the young of the village are being taken for nourishment to be offered up to the Dark Lord Erebus in the Old Oak.  Erebus is growing daily in strength and threatening both the humans and the ethereal beings that dwell in the wood.  In response to this the mother of the wood, the lady Danu, unleashes a terrible power to try and quell the growth of this darkness, at a great personal cost.  For despite what is done to try and stop Erebus’ inexorable gain of control nothing seems to yet work.  Then without warning both the villagers of Hallows Chaise and the spirits of the wood receive the help they need from those that they were not expecting.  £7.99 on Kindle.

~ Blogs ~

The Art of Blogging:  Let’s work together.
Pointless Overthinking:  Pave your own path – video.
Lucid Being:  Lucid being.
MovieBabble:  Superman:  The godfather of the modern superhero film.
Liz Gauffreau:  Finding found poetry.
Existential Tableau:  Refugee in an Alternate Reality ~ a novel by Adam.
The Bold Mom:  Wolvz: Whispers of War by Toneye Eyenot.
Elves Choice:  Christmas rocky road recipe.
Aging Disgracefully:  Christmas gifts by myself.
Bon Bon Lifestyle Webazine:
  The Audi eTron GT Concept’s Interior Features Recycled Fishing Net.
SPECIAL MENTIONS:  Cool San Diego Sights:  A grateful writer’s thank you.
Phoebe Darqueling:  Get your FREE copy of The Steampunk Handbook.

And that’s 30 for this week.  Join me Saturday for the second installment of the Kung Fu drill-down, and meanwhile, I’ll be out gathering interesting gems for next Thursday’s post.  See you around the stacks; read well, and write better!

 

5 thoughts on “Other Voices, #18

    1. You’re welcome, C.W. I’m finding that promoting other fine authors is somehow more satisfying than promoting myself. Can’t explain it, but there it is…

      And my thanks to you, William. More eyes on the page is good for everyone. Let me know when you have a new release, and I’ll be all over it!

      Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.